Wordplay

I was asked to write about my five favourite words in any language, form or fashion just to alleviate the lack of writing that has been a feature of this blog for some time now and so will thus endevour to correct this successfully I hope. I have put a certain amount of thought into these five words and selected them mostly based on how they make me feel and the emotions they convey within me.

Their selection is also based on how to me they roll off my tongue when I pronounce them. There is a certain elation I derive from just the way the tone alters around them. You kind of get a feeling of fulfilment, jest and general satisfaction from any one of these words.

Though not generally used by most people, to me they are lifeblood!!

1• mel”an-chol-y] 1. Depression of spirits; a gloomy state continuing a considerable time; deep dejection; gloominess. 2. Great and continued depression of spirits, amounting to mental unsoundness; melancholia. 3. Pensive maditation; serious thoughtfulness. 4. Ill nature. [OE. melancolie, F. mélancolie, L. melancholia, fr. Gr. ýÿ; me`las me`lanos, black + ýÿ gall, bile. See Malice, and 1st Gall]

(adj.) [mel”an-chol-y] 1. Depressed in spirits; dejected; gloomy dismal. 2. Producing great evil and grief; causing dejection; calamitous; afflictive; as, a melancholy event. 3. Somewhat deranged in mind; having the jugment impaired. 4. Favorable to meditation; somber.

This word, melancholy is one of, if not my favourite word. This is from the emotion it conveys and its general effect upon the reader. It’s almost as if it’s self explainitory. I first encountered this word back in primary school, grade seven if memory serves me correct. I really never knew what it meant back then but found it truly intriguing after looking it up in my first dictionary.

Since then though, I have encountered it a myriad number of times in the literature I read. From Wilde to Stoker to Shelley and even Homer, it seems the word has always had a place amongst the classical writers. The way it is also used to describe sad and eerie music also makes it highly versatile.

Generally it seems to potray a certain a sense of uneasiness, though the way it rolls off a tongue just makes it that much harder not to love the word as a nod to the writers, before who found it apt for so many classics.

2• suc-cinct”] 1. Girded or tucked up; bound; drawn tightly together. 2. Compressed into a narrow compass; brief; concise. [L. succinctus, p. p. of succingere to gird below or from below, to tuck up; sub + cingere to gird. Cf. Cincture]

This word for me describes how I prefer my things to be, succinct. Am not averse to just using clear instead of succinct, but the word just brings a certain clarity to any statement. It literally kicks to the curb any questions and again the way it rolls off the tongue draws me to it.

3• in-cor”ri-gi-ble] Not corrigible; incapable of being corrected or amended; bad beyond correction; irreclaimable; as, incorrigible error. [L. incorrigibilis: cf. F. incorrigible. See In- not, and Corrigible]

(n.) [in-cor”ri-gi-ble] One who is incorrigible; a person whose persistent bad behavior cannot be changed; especially, a hardened criminal; as, the perpetual imprisonment of incorrigibles; incorrigible and disruptive children need to be placed in a separate classroom.

ha ha this is one of those words am prone to use in daily conversation especially with those close to me. Incorrigible hmmm, I could list a couple of friends that could and would be described aptly by this one word. Not in bad faith of course but good naturedly. Bad is good especially when I use this word. I just love it!!

It’s about their failure to conform with us mere mortals. Incorrigible describes you, him, her and her. But I wouldn’t have you any other way, you incorrigible something, something..

4• [im-bibe”] 1. To drink in; to absorb; to soak up; to suck or take in; to receive as by drinking; as, a person imbibes drink, or a sponge imbibes moisture. 2. To receive or absorb into the mind and retain; as, to imbibe principles; to imbibe errors. 3. To saturate; to imbue. [L. imbibere; pref. im- in + bibere to drink: cf. F. imbiber. Cf. Bib Imbue Potable]

Another word that just tickles my fancy so to speak, imbibe. Being an imbiber myself I just find the use of it better than say, using the word drinker or drinking. It also has layers that it transcends thereby making it a word that is not restricted.

Intake can be of knowledge and other human flaws. So its not just about single malts and dumpies when it comes to being referred as an imbiber. The books, manuscripts and articles we read can have us being truly imbibers. So toast to one and all.

5• The selection of the last word on my list was a bit tricky. Seriously considered my name as the fifth and also first and only vernacular word on this list but there is another word that’s just too good to leave off any list I make, malarkey. Now this word is kind of special to me because it so much so describes a lot of the silliness in life and mine especially.

All the tomfoolery we encounter on a daily basis, all the stupid tweets and opinions we see, editorials we read and stupid arguments from ill informed people we meet and talk to on a daily basis. All that is just malarkey!!! And make me suffer from ennui..

Those are my five words hey and just wish more people used them on a daily basis.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

Leave a Reply

